Double Fanned Rainbow!

I was asked to make a ring sling out of a Girasol Northern Lights, but the sling needed to look and fit similarly to SBP pleats (overlapping pleats that I used in my first Natural Mama Girasol Ring Slings as they allow you to show off each colour stripe beautifully).  But I no longer have permission to make SBP pleated ring slings to sell and so I needed to come up with another plan….

After some discussion with other sling makers, and several false starts at pleating I came up with a design that I liked the look of and that I felt pleated nicely.  It starts with two narrow box pleats in the centre (the two purple stripes) and fans out on either side, with each pleat showing off one of the colours of the night rainbow stripes. It’s a symmetrical design and so will sit nicely worn on either shoulder, and (even better and more satisfying), on the underside it’s pleated to fit in a very similar way to my normal pleated style.

I’m very pleased, and I hope it’s new owner will be too! xxx

*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*

About emeriminni

My name's Emily and I'm a pragmatic mum to 2 inspirational children, Sling Librarian, business owner/manager, part-time student & chronic craft enthusiast. I love reading, ranting, learning and making things & I'm interested in philosophy, psychology, babywearing & practical, natural-ish parenting, and all sorts of creative things (esp. crochet, dyeing, sewing, beading and baking).
This entry was posted in Babywearing Projects, Sewing & Altering. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

