Sun, Sea, Sand and Fische!

My ‘it’s almost a beach’ Didymos fische stash shot :

Joining my well-loved Petrol Fish shorty, here’s my new favourite summer wrap…….

Sunfish! (aka Didymos Salmon/Lachs Fische + Dylon Sunflower Yellow)

For all those who’ve seen salmon fish in pictures and thought it looked a bit meh, having now seen it in real life I have to agree. But a couple of sunflower yellow dye baths later it looks completely different AND it’s absolutely gorgeous to wrap with; as least as lovely to feel as (if not better than) petrol fische

Here’s a pic comparing Sunfish with original Salmon/Lachs Fish:

And slightly better ones:

Β 

It’s due to be chopped into 2 shorties tonight and shared with another lovely mama, but I did some cheeky wrapping with it while it was still long this afternoon…

I’m seriously considering buying another size 5 or 6 Salmon Fish so that I can have a long one too! Edit: I’ve now got my size 6 Sunfish! πŸ˜€

And here’s a dodgy pic of it as a size 2 shorty in a ruck tied at the shoulder:

*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*

About emeriminni

My name's Emily and I'm a pragmatic mum to 2 inspirational children, Sling Librarian, business owner/manager, part-time student & chronic craft enthusiast. I love reading, ranting, learning and making things & I'm interested in philosophy, psychology, babywearing & practical, natural-ish parenting, and all sorts of creative things (esp. crochet, dyeing, sewing, beading and baking).
This entry was posted in Babywearing Projects, Dyeing with Dylon, Sewing & Altering and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sun, Sea, Sand and Fische!

  1. No way!! You did that to a Salmon Fische? REAlly?! With Dylon only?! How many packets of Dylon did it take? ARE you talking about the Dylon that you can buy at JoAnn’s (or other crafty stores) ? The kind that has a black background and a picture of a sunflower on it?! Did you prep it before, or just wash it and dye it? Any tips would be great, I am about to buy a salmon fische (googled it and your site came up) but I LOVE the color you achieved, would really rather have that!

    • emeriminni says:

      Glad you like it! Before dyeing I washed the wrap with synthrapol (special detergent that you use to remove invisible greasy marks before dyeing and unfixed dye after). Then it was two machine dye washes, each with 500g salt and a full packet of Dylon Sunflower Yellow Machine Dye – yes it’s the type you can get everywhere and I just follow the instructions on the packet (though i do put a dishcloth in to cover the dye powder before I add the damp wrap to help prevent darker spots). I did 2 seperate dye washes as it gives a more reliably even finish than one wash with two packs of dye as sometimes large amounts of dye powder don’t dissolve properly. Lots of rinse washes to get any unfixed dye out + re-break it in and it was lovely and golden and soft πŸ˜€

  2. Tricia says:

    Oh thank you so much for the response! So sorry for my weird caps in the first reply, silly iPad.

    You have a real talent for dyeing and color, love your projects πŸ™‚

  3. I seriously want dibs on your sunfish!! They are TDF!! I’m gonna be stalking FSOT should you ever decide to sell!! *stalks* Eve ❀

  4. Eve says:

    I seriously want dibs on this if/when you ever sell it!! ❀

  5. emeriminni says:

    Thanks for the lovely comments!

    There’s a few more of these around now as I’ve dyed and sold another long one since the original 2 shorties and I know others have done them too. Dibs noted, though I’m never planning on selling mine as I use it as a scarf as well as a wrap so will keep using it even when I stop carrying, but maybe keep an eye out for one of the others out there! πŸ˜€

  6. Megan says:

    Do you have any tips for someone who doesnt have a washer to dye in (Mine is HE so it probably wont work)? Im seriously considering doing this to a salmon fishie.

    • emeriminni says:

      Hi Megan,
      You could use a cold water/hand dye – Dylon do a hand dye version of the sunflower yellow that I used for these Fische + there are others you could try too πŸ™‚
      Emily x

      • Megan says:

        I was thinking orange or really really hot pink. I am not an experienced dyer at all but covet the fishes badly. I have the opportunity to buy a salmon one (not my cup of tea) for a good price but am worried I will kill it trying to dye it or that it will come out really uneven.

Leave a Reply

