Mini Crochet Flower

Here’s my pattern for a simple, unsophisticated mini crochet flower, worked in 2 rounds.  I made these for my frankenbooks using a 4.5mm hook and cotton DK yarn and they ended up about 4cm across.  For the purposes of demonstration, here I’m using a slightly bigger hook (5mm) and a tighter yarn to (hopefully) make the pictures a bit clearer.

Here’s the stitches and abbrieviations I’ll use: ch = chain; sl st = slip stitch; DC = Double Crochet; HTC = Half Treble Crochet; TC = Treble Crochet

Here’s the basic pattern:

Ch 4 and sl st to join into a ring. Ch 1

Round 1: 10 DC into the ring and sl st to join to 1st DC.

Round 2: *Into the next (2nd) DC stitch, work the following: HTC, TC, TC, HTC.  Then sl st into the 3rd DC. Repeat from * x 4 more times (total of 5 times the pattern) with the 5th and final sl st joining to the 1st DC again.

Finish off by cutting yarn and pulling it through, and weave in the ends.

And here it is again, more slowly and with lots of pics:

Where pics are referred to, this is always the line of photos below the writing.  I’ve tried to make this all as clear as possible becuase I remember how hard I found it following patterns when I started.  (But please excuse my rather untidy crocheting – I’m not yet used to taking pictures as I go and it got a bit confusing for me at times!)

Start with looping the yarn (1st pic) and hook a loop through (2nd pic) to make a slip knot (3rd pic):

Now start the pattern – Chain 4:

Stick hook into the space/loop closest to the knot (1st pic), and slip stitch to join the chain into a chain-loop or ring (2nd pic).  If you flatten your ring, you should be able to make out the hole in the centre, which is clear in the pics below.  Then chain 1 ready to start your first round (3rd pic):

Round 1 (10 DC into the ring and sl st to join to 1st DC).

This is worked into the centre of the chain-ring you just made.  To make your first DC, stick hook into the hole in the middle of your chain-ring (1st pic), hook yarn (2nd pic) and pull yarn through the chain-ring only (3rd pic).  You now have 2 single loops of yarn on your hook:

Now stick your hook back into the chain-ring, hook yarn (1st pic) and pull through both loops to complete the first DC of the round (2nd pic):

Now do 9 more DC into the centre of the chain-ring in the same way (total of 10 DC):

Stick hook through both top loops of the first DC stitch of round 1 (1st pic), hook yarn over (2nd pic), and pull through to make the slip stitch that finishes round 1 (3rd pic):

Round 2 (*Into the next (2nd) DC stitch, work the following: HTC, TC, TC, HTC.  Then sl st into the 3rd DC. Repeat from * x 4 more times (total of 5 times the pattern) with the 5th and final sl st joining to the 1st DC again.)

So now stick your hook through both top loops of the next DC, which is the second DC of round 1.  Now work the following 4 stitches, all into this DC stitch: HTC, TC, TC, HTC.  Your flower will now look something like this:

Hook into next DC stitch (the 3rd DC of round 1) and pull through to make the slip stitch:

Now repeat those last 2 steps 3 times to make the next 3 petals:

And repeat the HTC, TC, TC, HTC part into the 10th DC of round 1 (but don’t do the last slip stitch yet):

Work out which loop is the 1st DC of round 1, stick hook through this 1st DC of round 1 and hook yarn through.  You’ve already done a slip stitch into this DC (at the end of round 1) so it’s not always clear where the stitch is.  The 1st pic shows half way through the slip stitch and I tried to show where the yarn loop I just hooked through came from – clear as mud? (I don’t always get this right, so don’t worry if you don’t find the same place as me – if it looks ok it doesn’t matter).  The 2nd pic shows the completed slip stitch that finishes round 2:

To finish off I pull more yarn through with the slip stitch above and cut it off leaving a few inches of tail (1st pic).  I then use a darning needle to sew this tail into the space next to the stitch you just slip stitched into.  2nd pic shows needle pointing to where it’s about to go, and 3rd pic shows it going through.  I find doint this here helps hide the join of round 2.

Now it looks like this:

If I’m attaching the flower to another crochet project, I knot the two tails together at the back and then leave them long to use them to attach the flower (1st pic).  Or you could weave in the ends – I wove these in by sewing them through the stitches of round 1 (2nd pic), before cutting off and tucking in the yarn ends.

Finished!  Here’s the front (1st pic) and back (2nd pic) of the flower – I use them either way round depending on how I feel about it at the time:

These flowers are really quick to make – once you get the hang of them even a beginner like me can ping them out in a few minutes on the bus!  They’re great for using as the middle of larger flowers, though I was thinking of making loads and then joining them to make a shawl or something, but that’s another project…..

Here’s one of my first mini flowers (back side facing out), now in place in a frankenbook:

(The larger flower in these pics was made using this great pattern for a ‘small flower’: http://ibrakeforyarnpatterns.blogspot.com/2006/03/flowers-flowers-everywhere.html)

*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*

About emeriminni

My name's Emily and I'm a pragmatic mum to 2 inspirational children, Sling Librarian, business owner/manager, part-time student & chronic craft enthusiast. I love reading, ranting, learning and making things & I'm interested in philosophy, psychology, babywearing & practical, natural-ish parenting, and all sorts of creative things (esp. crochet, dyeing, sewing, beading and baking).
This entry was posted in Crafting, Crochet and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mini Crochet Flower

  1. Great tute for a very cute flower – I’m planning on making a few of these 🙂
    Thanks,
    Sarah
    x

Leave a Reply

