Learning to crochet

One day a few months ago I wandered into the local knitting shop + decided that I’d like to learn how to crochet flowers to applique onto things generally.  So I bought a ball of soft cotton yarn and a 4.5mm hook and took it home.   I typed ‘learn to crochet’ into Google and started absorbing.

NOTE OF WARNING: I only discovered this some time later, but the UK and US have different conventions for naming crochet stitches – I learnt from US websites, and then ran into trouble when using a UK book.  This site has a stitch conversion chart: http://crochet.about.com/od/conversioncharts/a/termtranslate.htm, and this one also explains the differences quite well http://www.ehow.co.uk/facts_5981051_british-vs_-american-crochet-stitches.html

For me, the best places to learn basic crochet techniques was on YouTube, and I found the stitches to search for on sites like this: http://crochet.about.com/library/blbeginners.htm

The most useful videos for me were the ones by Knit Witch here: http://knitwitch.com/crochet%20videos.htm

So I learned to chain stitch, single, double and triple crochet, and to work in a circle.

I then searched Youtube for crochet flowers and started experimenting.   This one’s a good start: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0lvoOmcz6Iw

And I found these fun to try too: http://ibrakeforyarnpatterns.blogspot.com/2006/03/flowers-flowers-everywhere.html (the small ones are super cute and the star ones are cool and different)

Crochet is great to learn because it doesn’t take long to make a little 5 petal flower, so if it goes wrong you don’t feel bad about unravelling it all and trying again.  And flowers help you to practice a combination of basic stitches and you quickly create lots of pretty, satisfying little things 😀

I even made up my own design of very small and simple crochet flower:

Go to my Mini Crochet Flower

And so for a couple of weeks I spent my 20 minute bus journey to work creating various new breeds of occasionally mutant flower…

Acknowledgements: I’d like to thank all the people who posted the various crochet tutorial blogs and videos I used – I’m totally enabled now and couldn’t have done it without you!

*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*”*~,~*

About emeriminni

My name's Emily and I'm a pragmatic mum to 2 inspirational children, Sling Librarian, business owner/manager, part-time student & chronic craft enthusiast. I love reading, ranting, learning and making things & I'm interested in philosophy, psychology, babywearing & practical, natural-ish parenting, and all sorts of creative things (esp. crochet, dyeing, sewing, beading and baking).
This entry was posted in Crafting, Crochet and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Learning to crochet

  1. Sasha says:

    Hiya,

    Saw your blog in your NM signature and rememberd you telling me about how to learn to crochet. I’m going to give it another go 🙂

Leave a Reply

